Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Career Services

Department Internship Contacts

A note to students: Some majors require you to complete an internship.  Some employers will require you to earn credit while completing an internship with their organization.  Or you may want to have an internship course on your transcript. If any of this applies to you, consult the Department Internship Contact for your major/program. If you are completing an unpaid internship, you MUST be enrolled in an internship course (see the Internship Definition & Characteristic Matrix).

Below is the contact information for each of the Department Internship Contacts. To find a specific department, click on the letter corresponding to that department's name.  Click the major/program link to go to the department's website.

Department Internship Contacts by Major

    [quick jump]  A - B - CD - E - F - G - H - I - J - L - M - NPR - S - T - UW 

Major/
Program
CollegeInternship
Type
 Academic Internship Coordinator
 EmailPhone
 Accounting Business
 UndergraduateMichelle Svay
fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
Advertising  PSFA Undergraduate Nicole Vargas
nvargas@sdsu.edu

(619) 594-1007

(email preffered) 

Anthropology  Arts & Letters UndergraduateFrederick Conway, Ph.D.conway1@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5643
Anthropology  Arts & Letters GraduateErin Riley, Ph.D.epriley@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0978
Art PSFA Undergraduate  (Not Graphic Design)
Mark Siprutmsiprut@sdsu.edu(619) 594-2850
Art PSFA Undergraduate Graphic DesignGary Benzelgbenzel@sdsu.edu(619) 594-6511
Astronomy
 Sciences

  Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

 Maureen Crawford
 mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
 Biology Sciences

 Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
 Business Business Undergraduate & MBAMichelle Svayfcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
 Chemistry Sciences

 Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

  Maureen Crawford  mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
Chicana/o Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduateMaria Ibarra, Ph.D.
m1ibarra@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0656
Child & Family Development
Education
 Undergraduate Hsing-Chen Tung, Ed.D.
cfd.sla@sdsu.edu(619) 594-4445
Child & Family Development Education Undergraduate Advisor Pamela Gardner, M.S.
 pgardner@sdsu.edu(619) 594-7035
 City Planning
PSFA Undergraduate & Graduate
Patricia A. Frosio
pfrosio@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5576

 Communication

PSFA

 

Undergraduate

 

 Kathleen Czech, Ph.D.
 kczech@sdsu.edu(619) 594-1368
Computer Science  Sciences

  Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

 Maureen Crawford mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
Criminal Justice
 PSFAUndergraduate & GraduatePatricia A. Frosio pfrosio@dsu.edu(619) 594-5576
 Dance PSFA Undergraduate & Graduate
 Eric Starr, D.M.A
estarr@dsu.edu (619) 594-0144

Economics

 Arts & Letters

 Undergradaute & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships*

 Kangoh Lee, Ph.D.  klee@sdsu.edu (619) 594-8496
English & Comparative Lit.  Arts & LettersUndergraduate Phillip Serrato, Ph.D. pserrato@sdsu.edu
 (619) 594-5170

 English & Comparative Lit. 

 Arts & Letters Graduate Quentin Bailey, Ph.D. qbailey@sdsu.edu (619) 594-8435
 Entrepreneurship  Business Undergraduate

Michelle Svay

fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
Entrepreneurship  Business

Undergraduate & Graduate

(Lavin Entrepreneurship Center) 

Daniel Bordendborden89@gmail.com(619) 246-5235
Environmental Sciences
Sciences

 Undergraduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

John Love, Ph.D. jlove@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5386
European Studies Arts & Letters Undergraduate Veronica Shapovalov, Ph.D.
 veronica.shapovalov@
sdsu.edu
(619) 594-7147
Exercise & Nutritional Sciences
Health & Human Services
Undergraduate Kinesiology/Fitness and Kinesiology/Generalist Majors Suzanne Meredith, B.A, CPT, RTCsmeredith@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-5541
 Exercise & Nutritional Sciences Health & Human Services Undergraduate Athletic Training Denise Lebsack, Ph.D. dlebsack@sdsu.edu(619) 594-6825
Exercise & Nutritional SciencesHealth & Human Services Undergraduate (Dietetic Internship Advising) Yumi Petrisko, M.S. mpetrisk@sdsu.edu (619) 594-3916
 Exercise & Nutritional SciencesHealth & Human Services Graduate Exercise Physiology & Dual Master's Degree in Exercise Physiology/NutritionSuzanne Meredith, B.A, CPT, RTCsmeredith@sdsu.edu (619) 594-5541 
  Exercise & Nutritional Sciences Health & Human Services
 Graduate Exercise Physiology Susan Levy, Ph.D.
 slevy@sdsu.edu (619) 594-5672
Finance
 Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
Financial Planning / Services  Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu (619) 594-0435
French Studies
Arts & Letters Undergraduate Edith Benkov Ph.D. ebenkov@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5111
Geography Arts & Letters Undergraduate & Graduate
Diana Gauss Richardson
 drichard@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5476
 Geography Arts & Letters
 Undergraduate & Graduate Molly Costello
 mpohl@sdsu.edu (619) 594-3896
 Geology Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
German Studies
Arts & Letters Undergraduate Kristin Rebien, Ph.D.
 krebien@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5128
 Gerontology Health & Human Services

 Undergraduate

*Only open to Gerontology Majors* 

 Amanda Lee, LCSW

amanda.lee@sdsu.edu

(619) 594-5144
Health Professions Advising Office
 Sciences Undergraduate Gwen Hill
 ghill@sdsu.edu  (619) 594-3553
History Arts & LettersUndergraduate Internships in Public HistorySara S. Elkind, Ph.D.selkind@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0930
Hospitality & Tourism Management PSFA

 Undergraduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships*

 Christina Jeffries cjeffries@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0390
Human Resources Business
 UndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
International Business
Arts & Letters/ Business
 Undergraduate Marisela LaPlante
 mlaplante@sdsu.edu(619) 594-4505
International Security & Conflict Resolution Arts & Letters/ PSFA/ Sciences
 Undergraduate Allen Greb, Ph.D.
iscor@sdsu.edu(619) 594-3768
 Italian Studies
Arts & Letters Undergraduate Clarissa Clo, Ph.D.
cclo@sdsu.edu(619) 594-1131
Japanese Arts & Letters  Undergraduate Yoshiko Higurashi, Ph.D.  yhigurashi@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1005
Jewish Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduate
Risa Levitt-Kohn, Ph.D.
rkohn@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-5327
Journalism  PSFA Undergraduate Nicole Vargas
 nvargas@sdsu.edu

(619) 594-1007

(email preffered) 

 Journalism  PSFA Graduate  Marcie Bober-Michel, Ph.D. bober@sdsu.edu (619) 594-0587
Latin American Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduateMireya Mateo clasintr@sdsu.edu
619-594-1103 
Leadership Minor
 Education Undergraduate Lisa Gates, Ph.D.
lgates@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1961
LGBT Studies
Arts & Letters Undergraduate & Graduate Susan Cayleff, Ph.D. cayleff@sdsu.edu(619) 594-5943
Linguistics & Asian/Middle Eastern Languages
Arts & Letters Graduate Betty Samraj, Ph.D.
 bsamraj@sdsu.edu(619) 594-1910
Management
Business
 UndergraduateMichelle Savyfcbinternships@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-2899
 Management Business Undergraduate Michael Sloan
msloan@sdsu.edu(858) 449-9419
Management Information Systems
Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
 Marketing  Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
 Mathematics  Sciences

 Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

Maureen Crawfordmcrawford@sdsu.edu(619) 594-1813
Media Studies PSFA UndergraduateNicole Vargas  nvargas@sdsu.edu

(619) 594-5679

(email preffered) 

MESA Program EngineeringUndergraduate STEM
 Natasha Celise
ncelise@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-5679 
Music
PSFA
Undergraduate & Graduate
Eric Starr, D.M.Aestarr@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0144
Nursing Health & Human ServicesUndergraduateJoan Hall, MSN, APRN, BC
jhall2@sdsu.edu(858) 361-8041
 Physics Sciences

 Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

 Maureen Crawford mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
 Political Science Arts & Letters Undergraduate Madeline Baer, Ph.D.
 mbaer@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-0157
Political Science  Arts & LettersUndergraduate DC & Sacramento ProgramRonnee Schreiber, Ph.D.rschreib@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-5208
 Psychology  Sciences   Undergraduate & Graduate Donalene Bergerdberger@sdsu.edu (619) 594-3755
Public Adminstration
PSFA
 Undergraduate & GraduatePatricia A. Frosio
 pfrosio@sdsu.edu (619) 594-5576
  Public Health Health & Human ServicesGraduateKaren Bergmannkbergmann@sdsu.edu(619) 594-2393
Public Health Health & Human ServicesUndergraduateKristen Emory, Ph.D. & Joanna Hutchinson
 PHundergrad@sdsu.edu

 (619) 594-1623

(email preffered) 

Public Relations
 PSFAUndergraduate Nicole Vargas
 nvargas@sdsu.edu

(619) 594-1007

(email preffered) 

Real Estate
Business
Undergraduate Melissa Abeyta, M.A. realestate@sdsu.edu (619) 594-8328
 Real Estate
BusinessUndergraduateMichelle Svay fcbinternships@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
Recreation & Tourism Management PSFAUndergraduateKJ Lecesne
klecesne@sdsu.edu 
Regulatory Affairs Sciences
UndergraduateLorah Bodie, Ed.D.
lbodie@sdsu.edu(619) 594-0124
Russian Studies
Arts & Letters
Undergraduate  Veronica Shapovalov, Ph.D.  veronica.shapovalov@
sdsu.edu
 (619) 594-7147
School Psychology  EducationSchool Psychology Ed.S.
 Tonika Duren Green, Ph.D., NCSP tduren@sdsu.edu (619) 594-4467
Social Work
Health & Human Services
 Undergraduate Field Internships Kim Archuletta

 swfield@sdsu.edu 

 (619) 594-5803
Sociology
Arts & LettersUndergraduate
 Norma Ojeda, Ph.D.
nojeda@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-1320
Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences
Health & Human Services

Graduate & Doctoral

(Audiology only)

  Christy Kirschckirsch@sdsu.edu(619) 594-4176
 Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences Health & Human Services

 Graduate & Doctoral

(Speech-Language only)

Charlotte Lopesclopes@sdsu.edu (619) 594-8051
Statistics
 Sciences

 Undergraduate & Graduate

*Department does not approve unpaid internships* 

  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
 Sustainability Arts & Letters 

 Undergraduate 

 Matthew Lauer Ph.D.mlauer@sdsu.edu (619) 594-0978
Theatre, Television, and New Media
PSFA
Undergraduate


Theatre PSFAGraduate (MFA Musical Theater Program) InternshipsRobert MeffeRMeffe@sdsu.edu
Urban Studies
Arts & LettersUndergraduateDr. Pascale Marcelli
pmarcelli@sdsu.edu (619) 594-0906
Women's Studies
Arts & Letters UndergraduateDoreen Mattingly, Ph.D.
mattingl@sdsu.edu
(619) 594-8033

Updates & Corrections

The information on this page is updated regularly. If you have information about internships not listed here or corrections to this information, please contact the Associate Director of Experiential Learning.